Merry Christmas

“Someday At Christmas”

Someday at Christmas men won’t be boys
Playing with bombs like boys play with toys
One warm December our hearts will see
A world where men are free
Someday at Christmas there’ll be no wars
When we have learned what Christmas is for
When we have found out what life is really worth
Then there will be peace on earth
Someday all of our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you or for me
But someday at Christmas time
Someday at Christmas there’ll be no tears
All men are equal and no men have fears
One shining moment my heart ran away
From the world that we live in today
Some day at Christmas men will not fail
Take hope because your love will prevail
Some day in a new world that we can only start
With hope in every our heart
Someday all of our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you or for me
But someday at Christmas time
Oh, there will be peace on earth
I said there will be peace on earth
………………………………………………………………………….
4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas

  1. Just found your blog from Rock Waterman’s Pure Mormonism blog. This last Christmas season, as well as in previous years, my wife gets out our collection of Christmas CD’s, and this song is on one by Stevie Wonder. I tended to resist this song, yet I think it is becoming my favorite Christmas song. Amazing that a couple of month later, running across it again on your blog, it is really having an impact on me.

    • The first time it caught my attention was this Christmas when they started playing Holiday Music at my work, I heard a version by Mary J. Blige. She does it really well.

      I wish I could sing or play a guitar, I would have totally sung it for Christmas at church.

      Why did you tend to resist it at first and what do you think changed in you?

  2. Probably not wanting to think too much about how fallen we are, compared to the much better world the song anticipates for the future. Also, I probably had some judgement of Stevei Wonder from things I have heard about , that seem typical of many famous performers. But then I remember, we are all flawed to some degree, which is why the promise of the Savior (and his birth and life) is so wonderful. For example, I think of an LDS actress who gets criticised for not being a good LDS example (Katherine Heigl, in this case), and I wonder how many of her critics have beams in their own eyes.

    • So true. The thing is, when I started learning about Joseph Smith, after finding about all the screwed up things he did and problems he had, I like him even more. He was able to do so much even with all his issues. Those same issues many times are what turn people away from him unfortunately. There is a sad nature about most of us in that we discount the good in others because of their faults.

      The thing is, it is disheartening to accept how fallen we are, but the Lord has shown us the way. The Book of Mormon, Isaiah, D&C and God detail the solutions to the mess we are in. We can be in such a place as the song describes. We can work to bring about the redemption of Zion which will be a refuge from the sad state of the world.

Leave a Reply

