The Structure of Zion

So what is this strange and weird place known as Zion? It’s simple, like the carpenter’s Son.

I won’t say what the structure is, because it is without structure (from a certain point of view). In trying to structure it, I would recreate the whole world that Zion is the opposite of. The individual and family decisions to follow the Spirit and revelation is the structure of Zion. There is the Spirit of Zion which is what each individual must posses. That will assure that Zion will survive.

But some might say without blah blah blah and gov’t stuff, it will get shut down. I already talked about that earlier. In Zion everyone will do what they can and it will work. People will use the knowledge they have and abilities to help in areas they know and those they don’t. The thing is, it won’t be all sunshine and plenty. Some might think things are off because it isn’t going to be perfect and there might be times of hunger and suffering. There is always probation.

People might teach that when Christ was here He built His church and organized it. Where do they get that from? The scriptures? The scriptures teach that He called and ordained people to positions to share the Gospel and perform ordinances. That’s it. He never did anything like correlation or the humongous charts required to show the organization of callings and positions in a single “stake” of the LDS Church.

Zion is like Happiness. We don’t make it, we live our lives in a way so that we recieve it.

As soon as we start making all these rules about how Zion should be goverend or organized or maintained, Zion will end. Denver Snuffer said it really well in explaining if we tried to build the city of Zion with our Babylonian mindset:

Our “Zion” would be a commercial enterprise, with private ownership and capitalist competition to form an economic basis from which to build a strictly regimented and highly controlled people.  Something so foreign to what Zion was meant to be that I rather think it would draw tornadoes in a proportion greater than trailer parks currently do in Mississippi.

So in Zion how will we be organized and what sort of system will there be? There won’t. Everyone will be following the Saviors example of putting others first and loving them. The inhabitants of Zion will be full of Charity. Charity will be the structure. That is it. That is what will make it work. When there is a need, people will step in and fulfill it. Why? Because they will want to do it. It will be a place where we are supporting each other and achieve the ideal relationship of friends.

DC 93:45 Verily, I say unto my servant Joseph Smith, Jun., or in other words, I will call you friends, for you are my friends, and ye shall have an inheritance with me

DC84:77 And again I say unto you, my friends, for from henceforth I shall call you friends, it is expedient that I give unto you this commandment, that ye become even as my friends in days when I was with them, traveling to preach the gospel in my power

Proverbs 27:10 Thine own friend, and thy father’s friend, forsake not; neither go into thy brother’s house in the day of thy calamity: for better is a neighbor that is near than a brother far off.

Proverbs 18:24 A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than abrother.

All will be equal. Everyone will recognize that the earth and all it’s possession are that of the Lord. We will understand that our inheritance is a stewardship over the Lord’s land. We will rejoice in the chance to truly fulfill the measure of our creation and raise our children in righteousness.

Moroni 8:17 And I am filled with charity, which is everlasting love; wherefore, all children are alike unto me; wherefore, I love little children with a perfect love; and they are all alike and partakers of salvation.

Does he differentiate between children? Everyone will work together and there will be no differences between us.

In summation, what is the structure of Zion? Zion is of one heart, one mind, no unrighteousness and no poor among them. They share the principles and ordinances of the gospel of faith, repentance, baptism and the gift of the Holy Ghost. They are friends. They are bonded with Charity. The Lord will be their God and He will guide them. That’s it.

That’s the structure of Zion. ya, not a lot to it. It’s simple and basic just like Jesus’ teachings and lifestyle.

We are not going to just save ourselves, but to be able to save all others. Perfect love.

At one point in reading that about charity and what friendships is, the roots of Babylon’s spirit within you probably whispered or shouted, “That’s stupid. That will never work. There is no structure in that. It will fail. Such a thing will fail.”

Now to understand Zion truly is to understand why it is Israel, the ones who rejected Jesus are the same ones who today repudiate Zion for the exact same reason. It is the lifestyle and structure that is so foreign to what we are comfortable with. If we reject it, as not true or ignore it, then it helps silence our conscience and the Holy Ghost.

9 thoughts on “The Structure of Zion

    • For sure Toni. You can do whatever you like with them.
      I’d say thanks, but the material is what I’ve learned from others, the Spirit and the rest are my mistakes.

  1. Following the last article on my blog, I’ve actually been trying to hit the books–the scriptures that is–reading stuff that I should have read when I was ten. Surprised to find out that Manasseh means ‘Forgetful’ and Ephraim means ‘Fruitful’. We just need to remember that Ephraim is a gatherer; that’s his job, and he doesn’t know how to build Zion. He is so proud that he’ll inevitably fail if he tries.

    You said: “Zion is like Happiness. We don’t make it, we live our lives in a way so that we receive it.”

    I think there is some truth to this, except I believe the D&C does say the exact opposite, i.e., “Zion is build, and Christ receives her.” I’ll try to find the scripture.

    If we don’t build Zion, nor Christ, then who does? Well, just like my most recent blog article says, the Lamanites, aka, the Manassites, aka, the Native Americans.

    I think it’s good to pine for Zion, as long as we remember that we’re not the one’s who are going to build it.

    Oh, and as an aside, you can’t help but laugh when you stumble upon stuff like this: http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/fr/848921/posts . A little outdated, but still. The field is white…

    • Ya, looking at your posts and understanding the Lamanites role in building Zion has made a lot of sense. It feels right and connects a lot of missing parts.

      You’re right. The statement, “Zion is like Happiness…” by itself is misleading and false. Zion does need to be made as it will be called the City of Zion. This post would have been better titled “The Society of Zion.” Since the structure looks like it is going to be something that the Native Americans, the descendants of the Lamanites will build. I’d love to figure out a lot of the prophecies concerning it in time for a Thanksgiving post, but I’ve never thought about it before you mentioned it and I have no idea how much there is on it.

      This post was about me trying to understand what Zion will be like. Maybe from my perspective, since Manasseh will build it, this is the most I could see.

  2. Even the purest among Ephraim don’t know a thing about how Zion ought to be built or function, and if you haven’t noticed, our scriptures are a little scant on the details. On the other hand, I have a feeling the Native Americans already know and always have known; hoisted upon our shoulders. they can build it (1 Nephi 22:8).

    When I say “Don’t know” what I mean is that we can’t agree amongst ourselves. Heck, some people think it’s going to be a capitalist utopia (count me out), as if there’s a stock exchange operating in heaven as we speak. After all, Zion is to be built upon the principles of the celestial kingdom.

    Oh, and while I’m at it, I ought to keep that commitment I made about finding that verse: “And Zion cannot be built up unless it is by the principles of the law of the celestial kingdom; otherwise I cannot receive her unto myself.” — D&C 105:5

  3. What you have said here is excellent. I have come to the same understanding. Though I understand that building Zion, the New Jerusalem is for the seed of Lehi to accomplish. I do not believe that is the only way Zion can be established.

    Section 97:21
    21 Therefore, verily, thus saith the Lord, let Zion rejoice, for this is Zion—the pure in heart; therefore, let Zion rejoice, while all the wicked shall mourn.

    If Zion is the pure in heart then it is possible to establish it in a different form than an actual city.

    What has been said in this post is an excellent example of that. People get hung up on how Zion will be structured. When in reality Zion will structure itself. Any attempt by the hand of man to structure it will result in a corrupt form. Just my thought on the subject.

    • Perfect timing Jeremy…I just found out about the Lamanites building Zion a few days ago. Check out my latest post, that’s what it is all about. If you have anymore info or insight, share it, please.

      Along with what you are saying, from what I’m thinking at this point, we call it the City of Zion because that is the best way to relate it to our understanding. I bet the Lamanites when given the chance will have a better understanding and build a “city” like system or structure which might not be a city in the sense we think of.

  4. In TPJS, Joseph identified the City of Zion as being the New Jerusalem
    He identified the whole of America as Zion. Joseph also was given the physical layout for the New Jerusalem.

Leave a comment